Gelatin

Gelatin

Gelatin or gelatine (from Latin: gelatus meaning "stiff", "frozen") is a translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), flavorless food derived from collagen obtained from various animal body parts.

Introduction

Gelatin or gelatine (from Latin: gelatus meaning "stiff", "frozen") is a translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), flavorless food derived from collagen obtained from various animal body parts. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceutical drugs, vitamin capsules, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. Substances containing gelatin or functioning in a similar way are called "gelatinous." Gelatin is an irreversibly hydrolyzed form of collagen, wherein the hydrolysis results in the reduction of protein fibrils into smaller peptides, which will have broad molecular weight ranges associated with physical and chemical methods of denaturation, based on the process of hydrolysis. It is found in most gummy candy, as well as other products such as marshmallows, gelatin desserts, and some ice creams, dips, and yogurts.[1] Gelatin for recipe use comes in the form of sheets, granules, or powder. Instant types can be added to the food as they are; others need to be soaked in water beforehand.


Functions and Applications

1.The versatility of gelatin in the food industry makes it an ideal choice for confectionery, dairy, desserts, bakery, cereal, and meat products;    

2.In confectionery products, gelatin acts as an agent to provide varying degrees of texture and elasticity;    

3.In dairy products, it stabilizes properties in yogurts, sour creams, ice cream and milk based desserts, while adding a creamy mouth sensation to low or non-fat products.   

Gelatin

Inquiry